Back to Tournament Results

2006 Toronto vs. Mississauga Tournament

The second annual Toronto-Mississauga interclub Scrabble® match will take place on Sunday, April 9th, 2006 at the Port Credit Arena, 40 Stavebank Road N, Mississauga.

Toronto won the inaugural event by a score of 17-15. This year, the tournament expands to three divisions.

Players should arrive in time to play by 9:00 A.M. (time to be confirmed) and be prepared to play a seven-round schedule with an hour’s break for lunch. Kibitzers are welcome, though space is limited.

See also...


John Chew (Toronto team captain)
E-mail or call +1 416 876 7675 (cellphone, before, during or after the event).
Craig Rowland (Mississauga team captain)
E-mail or call +1 905 272 6843.


We will play by regular NSA tournament rules, including the keeping of game scores (unlike at Toronto vs. Montreal where for historical reasons only wins and losses are recorded). However, spread will not be used to determine team victory: if both teams score the same number of wins, the event will be declared a tie.

John and Craig draw to see which side goes first in odd-numbered rounds, overriding the NSA’s usual protocol.

$10 will be collected from each player at the tournament at the door, to cover the cost of the rating fee and venue rental.


Sunday, April 9th, 2006
9:00 A.M.-12:00 noonRounds 1-3
12:00 noon-1:00 P.M.Lunch (not provided)
1:00 P.M.-5:00 P.M.Rounds 4-7

This Year’s Teams

If you are not listed below and want to play for your city, please contact your team captain immediately.

Division A

Due to a late cancellation, Mississauga is currently short one player. If they can't find a replacement, Ray will have to withdraw.

Toronto Mississauga
1832Evan Berofsky 1829Craig Rowland
1822Tony Leah 1769Jim Nanavati
1795John Chew 1737Sinna Vijayakumar
1776Zev Kaufman 1733Shaun Goatcher
1729Libero Paolella 1664Steve Ozorio
1680Ray Francis

Division B

Toronto Mississauga
1456Lynda Wise 1476Yvonne Lobo
1414Roger Cullman 1409Jason Broersma
1409Curtis Akomanyi 1222Priya Fernando
1300Mad Palazzo 1218Sophia Ozorio

Division C

Toronto Mississauga
1166Mark Edelson 1005John David
1124Geoff Gibson 962Kevin Turner
1010Fraser Simpson 952Allan Brown
862Janet Carrington 950Mark Hamilton
822Ben Lam 907Paul Wigley
820Matt Ross 877Don Ball
742Barry Muskovitch 814Charles Helewa
705Jim Caughran 657Percy Fernando
0Rachel Matlow 0Hans Oh

This Year’s Format

Teams will compete in three divisions with no intermixing. Pairings will be announed once division sizes are finalized.


Toronto leads Mississauga 1-0 in Division A.