Back to NSA Club #3, Tournaments or 2006-2007 Season.

NSA Club #3 Local Club Tournament (June 2007)

NSA Club #3 will hold its annual end-of-season club tournament (directed by John Chew) on June 13th, 20th and 27th, 2007. This is what the NSA calls a Local Club Tournament: tournament rules are in effect, you must be an active NSA member to play, and ratings changes are one-third of open-tournament changes. We will play nine rounds (three on each night) in three divisions, assigned according to club championship qualification (if applicable) or club rating at time of registration (if not).

You do not have to be a club member to play, but you must commit to attending all three nights. You do not have to be in contention for the club championships to play, but if you are you must play in the appropriate division.

To register, please pay $10 to John or Lisa by June 6th. Then be sure to arrive promptly each night, as clocks will be started at 7:30 P.M.

The tournament will have three divisions (A, B and C). If you are contending one of the club’s divisional championships (which are based on end-of-year championship ratings), you must play in that division. If you are not, you may still play, and you choose your division based on your club rating at the time of your registration, playing up or down if you are within 50 points of the division breaks 1100 and 1550.

Asterisked players are in the running for (and in serious contention for) the divisional championships, doubly asterisked players have clinched their divisions; other players who choose to play do so solely for the glory of winning this nine-game tournament and for the fabulous cash prizes.

The following players have registered for the tournament (dollar-signs indicate players who haven’t yet paid, exclamation marks those who may need to renew their NSA membership):

A Division (9 players)

Barry Spinner
Evan Berofsky**
Glenn Dunlop
Glenn Mosher
Libero Paolella!
Mark Edelson
Tony Leah
Trevor Sealy$
Zev Kaufman

B Division (13 players)

Ani Migirdicyan
Anna Miransky
Curtis Akomanyi$
Denis Farbstein
Diane Brown
Eric Peters
Fraser Simpson
Gene Rawlins
Lisa Kessler$
Lynda Wise
Mad Palazzo
Michael Lancashire**$
Vivienne Muhling

C Division (14 players)

Christine Westcott$
Eli Shupak
Irene Kennedy
Janet Carrington
Jillian Bathgate
Jim Caughran
Joseph Bowman*
Karen Falconer
Kaveri Raviraj$
Merran Dunlop
Paul Wigley
Peter Hopkins
Shirley Drucker
Stan Jeffay

Please make sure that you are available on all three nights before deciding to play. If you can’t make it one on of the nights, you are still welcome to drop by and play anyone else in the same situation. If you aren't sure what division you are in, please consult the following table. If there are two divisions listed beside your name, you may choose either one. If there's a ? after your name, it just means I've asked you once whether or not you're playing and you've told me you're note sure.