Back to Tournament Results

2009 Kingston Cup Match

[group photo]

The 25th annual Toronto-Montreal (Scrabble®) interclub match takes place on January 16th and 17th, 2010 at the Confederation Place Hotel.

  • player statistics
  • team statistics
  • live standings
  • [photo of the trophy cups]


    Confederation Place Hotel
    237 Ontario Street, Kingston ON, K7L 2Z4, 1-888-825-4656 or 1-613-549-6300. Call to make reservations: our room rate is $89/night (singles or doubles). Directions: take the Division St. or Montreal St. exit from the 401, drive to Princess Street, turn left, drive all the way down to the waterfront at Ontario Street, turn right and the hotel will be on your left.
    Lisa Kessler (Toronto team captain)
    John Chew (Toronto deputy team captain)
    E-mail or call +1 416 876 7675 (cellphone, before, during or after the event).
    Sary Karanofsky (Montreal team captain)
    E-mail saryk @ Call +1 514 481 7941.
    Bernard Gotlieb (Montreal deputy team captain)
    Call +1 514 484 0824.


    We play by regular NASPA tournament rules, except that no record is kept of cumulative spread. Games may therefore be ended by resignation, when both players agree that the outcome is certain and the game does not need to be played out. This should be in keeping with the late Mike Wise’s unofficial motto for this event: “Play in a spirit of friendly rivalry.”

    Lisa and Sary draw to see which side goes first in even-numbered rounds, overriding the NSA’s usual protocol.

    A entry fee of $20 is collected from each player at the tournament, to cover the cost of the room and the NASPA participation fee. All participants must be NASPA members before play begins.


    Saturday, 12:30 P.M.Welcome, registration and announcements.
    Saturday, 1:00 P.M.Round 1 begins
    Saturday, 6:00 P.M. (approx.)Dinner
    Saturday, 7:30 P.M.Round 6 begins
    Saturday, 10:30 P.M. (approx.)Round 8 ends
    Sunday, 10:00 A.M.Round 9 begins (If both players consent, Round 8 may be played on Sunday at 9:00 A.M. instead of late Saturday night.)
    Sunday, 12:30 P.M.Round 11 begins (allowing slack for people who want to have a quick lunch or check out between rounds)
    Sunday, 2:30 P.M. (approx.)Round 12 ends, awards ceremony
    Sunday, 3:00 P.M.End of tournament

    This Year’s Teams

    If you are not listed below and want to play for your city, please contact your team captain immediately. Division assignments are still tentative, and we still need to recruit a few players.

    Kingston Cup
    Toronto Montreal
    1852Tony Leah 1991Adam Logan
    1730Zev Kaufman 1843David Boys
    1673Libero Paolella 1742Matthew Tunnicliffe (Ottawa)
    1655John Chew 1736Ross Brown (Ottawa)
    1644Craig Rowland 1680Jeremy Hildebrand (Ottawa)
    1634Yvonne Lobo 1664Andrew Golding
    1577Steve Ozorio 1586Sue Tremblay (Ottawa)
    401 Trophy
    Toronto Montreal
    1423Lynda Wise 1546Deen Hergott (Ottawa)
    1421Alex Rodriguez 1485Lydia Keras
    1401Trevor Sealy 1449Sary Karanofsky
    1387Anna Miransky 1384Nicholas Fall (Kingston)
    1380Vera Bigall 1361Anita Rackham
    1377Roger Cullman 1353Richard Kirsch
    1345Mad Palazzo 1322Barbara Bultz
    1295Brenda Megannety 1156Akiva Gitelman
    1292Lisa Kessler 1139Wayne Barclay (Ottawa)
    Midway Cup
    Toronto Montreal
    1192Geoff Gibson 1036Lany Ramos
    1152Jillian Bathgate 988Ruth Nabi
    1132Sharmaine Farini 943Abie Cromanty
    1005Diane Brown 877Emilie Henkelman (Ottawa)
    940Pamela Hunter (Ottawa) 873Norma Lovett
    759Sharon Janssen 825Sylvia Polson
    656Eli Shupak 808John Apissoghomian

    This Year’s Format

    Teams will compete in three divisions with no intermixing.


    Montreal now leads Toronto 13½–10½ in the Kingston Cup and 7-6 in the 401 Trophy, and Toronto leads Montreal 6½-½ in the Midway Cup. Click to see historical records about the players and the teams.