Back to NSA Club #3, Tournaments or 2008-2009 Season.

NSA Club #3 Local Club Tournament (June 2009)

NSA Club #3 will hold its annual end-of-season club tournament (directed by John Chew) on June 3rd, 10th and 17th, 2009. This is what the NSA calls a Local Club Tournament: tournament rules are in effect, you must be an active NSA member to play, and ratings changes are one-third of open-tournament changes. We will play nine rounds (three on each night) in three divisions, assigned according to club championship qualification (if applicable) or club rating at time of registration (if not).

You do not have to be a club member to play, but you must commit to attending all three nights. You do not have to be in contention for the club championships to play, but if you are you must play in the appropriate division.

To register, please pay $10 to John or Lisa by May 27. Then be sure to arrive promptly each night, as clocks will be started at 6:45 P.M.

The tournament will have three divisions (A, B and C). If you are contending one of the club’s divisional championships (which are based on end-of-year championship ratings), you must play in that division. If you are not, you may still play, and you choose your division based on your club rating at the time of your registration, playing up or down if you are within 50 points of the division breaks 950 and 1400.

Asterisked players are in the running for (and in serious contention for) the divisional championships, doubly asterisked players have clinched their divisions; other players who choose to play do so solely for the glory of winning this nine-game tournament and for the fabulous cash prizes.

The following players have registered for the tournament (dollar-signs indicate players who haven’t yet paid, exclamation marks those who may need to renew their NSA membership):

A Division (10 players)

Brenda Megannety$
Chris Bonin$
Evan Berofsky*
Glenn Dunlop*
Glenn Mosher*
John Chew
Lynda Wise*
Mark Edelson*
Tony Leah*
Zev Kaufman*

B Division (10 players)

Alex Rodriguez
Ani Migirdicyan$
Eric Peters*
Gene Rawlins*
Janet Carrington
Jillian Bathgate*
Lisa Kessler*
Sharmaine Farini*
Sharon Janssen
Vivian Penaflor$
James Mack$ (if one more person signs up)

C Division (13 players)

Barry Muskovitch*
Carol Pressey*
Dayna Gedney
Eli Shupak*
George Zywiel
Harry Gefen
Irene Gedney*
Irene Kennedy*
Jim Caughran
Karen Falconer*
Merran Dunlop
Michael McClennan
Pam Stevens*

Please make sure that you are available on all three nights before deciding to play. If you can’t make it one on of the nights, you are still welcome to drop by and play anyone else in the same situation. If you aren't sure what division you are in, please consult the following table. If there are two divisions listed beside your name, you may choose either one. If there's a ? after your name, it just means I've asked you once whether or not you're playing and you've told me you're not sure.

A* Sal Desiato
A* Max Panitch
A  Tim Anglin
A  Ross Brown
A  Lou Cornelis
A  Roger Cullman
A  Hugh Currie
A  Andrew Curshen
A  Stewart Holden
A  Michael Lancashire?
A  Louis Lazaris
A  Fern Lindzon
A  Yvonne Lobo
A  Ron Manson
A  Heather McCall
A  Jim Nanavati
A  Sophia Ozorio
A  Steve Ozorio
A  Susan Rice
A  Craig Rowland
A  Trevor Sealy
A  Sue Tremblay
A  Jason Ubeika
A  Sinnadurai Vijayakumar
AB Curtis Akomanyi
AB Garth Hardie
AB Gene Tyszka
B* Mad Palazzo
B  Simone Aitch
B  Ade Ariyo
B  Curt Basher
B  Joseph Bowman
B  Diane Brown
B  Kristen Chew
B  Geoff Gibson
B  Mark Hamilton
B  Abdul Khan
B  Patrick Lam
B  Kendrick Lo
B  Norma Manson
B  Vivienne Muhling
B  Graham Palmateer
B  Tim Pressey
B  Rob Pristas
B  Tzabia Siegel
B  Lilla Sinanan
B  Elizabeth Spivak
B  Shelley Ubeika
B  Paul Wigley
BC Israr Ahmad
BC Eugene d'Eon
BC Clare O'Brien
C  Lula Anderson
C  Vladimir Bondarenko
C  Gerard Boyd
C  Joan Boyd
C  Sue-Lin Chan
C  Adrian De Cicco
C  Darcy Corbett
C  Sheena Dash
C  Ahmad Deeb
C  Shirley Drucker
C  Meagan Dumouchel
C  John Eagleson
C  Nonnie Elkins
C  Debbie Flom
C  Patty Gail
C  Josh Greenway
C  Pauline Grierson
C  Elva Mai Hoover
C  Dorothy Jones
C  Murray Kash
C  John Kay
C  Evan Kelemen
C  Phyllis Koppel
C  Michael Lo
C  Sharon Marsden
C  Eleanor McKechnie
C  Sarah Moorhouse
C  Stefanie Muhling
C  Jeff Pancer
C  Robert Peaker
C  Chris Pristas
C  Deb Pyper
C  Fanny Samaniego
C  Doug Schmidt
C  Anne Sinnette
C  Tom Sturrock
C  Simon Thompson
C  Unblind Tibbin
C  Cherie VanDyk
C  Tannis Waugh
C  Pat Weber
C  Rita Weber
C  Sarah Weber
C  Jean Wolin
C  Christina Wong
C  Francis Wong
C  Ben Wu
C  Zag Zed