Back to Tournament Results

2010 Kingston Cup Match

[group photo]

The 26th annual Toronto-Montreal (Scrabble®) interclub match takes place on October 30–31, 2010 at the Confederation Place Hotel.

[photo of the trophy cups]


Confederation Place Hotel
237 Ontario Street, Kingston ON, K7L 2Z4, 1-888-825-4656 or 1-613-549-6300. Directions: take the Division St. or Montreal St. exit from the 401, drive to Princess Street, turn left, drive all the way down to the waterfront at Ontario Street, turn right and the hotel will be on your left.
Lisa Kessler (Toronto team captain)
John Chew (Toronto deputy team captain)
E-mail or call +1 416 876 7675 (cellphone, before, during or after the event).
Sary Karanofsky (Montreal team captain)
E-mail saryk @ Call +1 514 481 7941.
Bernard Gotlieb (Montreal deputy team captain)
Call +1 514 484 0824.


We play by regular NASPA tournament rules, except that no record is kept of cumulative spread. Games may therefore be ended by resignation, when both players agree that the outcome is certain and the game does not need to be played out. This should be in keeping with the late Mike Wise’s unofficial motto for this event: “Play in a spirit of friendly rivalry.”

Lisa and Sary draw to see which side goes first in even-numbered rounds, overriding the NSA’s usual protocol.

A entry fee of $20 is collected from each player at the tournament, to cover the cost of the room and the NASPA participation fee. All participants must be NASPA members before play begins.


Saturday, 12:30 P.M.Welcome, registration and announcements.
Saturday, 1:00 P.M.Round 1 begins
Saturday, 6:00 P.M. (approx.)Dinner
Saturday, 7:30 P.M.Round 6 begins
Saturday, 10:30 P.M. (approx.)Round 8 ends
Sunday, 9:00 A.M.Round 9 begins
Sunday, 11:30 P.M.Round 11 begins
Sunday, 1:30 P.M. (approx.)Round 12 ends, awards ceremony
Sunday, 2:00 P.M.End of tournament

This Year’s Teams

If you are not listed below and want to play for your city, please contact your team captain immediately. Division assignments are still tentative, and we still need to recruit a few players.

Kingston Cup
Toronto Montreal
1764Craig Rowland 1845Lou Cornelis (Stoney Creek)
1711Zev Kaufman 1811Matthew Tunnicliffe (Ottawa)
1694John Chew 1761Jeremy Hildebrand (Ottawa)
1574Libero Paolella 1740Ross Brown (Ottawa)
1380Vera Bigall 1695Andrew Golding
1387Anna Miransky 1558Bernard Gotlieb
401 Trophy
Toronto Montreal
1374Mad Palazzo 1462Sary Karanofsky
1265Lynda Wise 1436Anita Rackham
1313Lisa Kessler 1397Lydia Keras
1306Alex Rodriguez 1302Barbara Bultz
1354Brenda Megannety 1106Akiva Gitelman
1152Jillian Bathgate 1006Ruth Nabi
Midway Cup
Toronto Montreal
1094Risa Horowitz 959Norma Lovett
1058Eli Shupak 957Emilie Henkelman (Ottawa)
1039Diane Brown 841Sylvia Polson
774Sharon Janssen 767John Apissoghomian
498Carol Pressey 718Lorna Katz
370Irene Gedney 0Sharon Ferguson

This Year’s Format

Teams will compete in three divisions with no intermixing.


Montreal now leads Toronto 14½–10½ in the Kingston Cup and 8–6 in the 401 Trophy, and Toronto leads Montreal 7½-½ in the Midway Cup. Click to see historical records about the players and the teams.