Back to Tournament Results

2011 Kingston Cup Match

[group photo]

The 27th annual Toronto-Montreal (SCRABBLE®) interclub match takes place on November 26–27, 2011 at the Confederation Place Hotel.

[photo of the trophy cups]


Confederation Place Hotel
237 Ontario Street, Kingston ON, K7L 2Z4, 1-888-825-4656 or 1-613-549-6300. Directions: take the Division St. or Montreal St. exit from the 401, drive to Princess Street, turn left, drive all the way down to the waterfront at Ontario Street, turn right and the hotel will be on your left.
Lisa Kessler (Toronto team captain)
John Chew (Toronto deputy team captain)
E-mail or call +1 416 876 7675 (cellphone, before, during or after the event).
Bernard Gotlieb (Montreal team captain)
Call +1 514 484 0824.
Sary Karanofsky (Montreal deputy team captain)
E-mail saryk @ Call +1 514 481 7941.


We play by regular NASPA tournament rules. In past years, no record was kept of cumulative spread, and games could therefore end by resignation; there will be a brief discussion at the beginning of this year’s event concerning conforming to an informal request from NASPA to abandon this practice.

Lisa and Sary draw to see which side goes first in even-numbered rounds, overriding the NSA’s usual protocol.

A entry fee of $20 is collected from each player at the tournament, to cover the cost of the room and the NASPA participation fee. All participants must be NASPA members before play begins.


Saturday, 12:30 P.M.Welcome, registration and announcements.
Saturday, 1:00 P.M.Round 1 begins
Saturday, 6:00 P.M. (approx.)Dinner
Saturday, 7:30 P.M.Round 6 begins
Saturday, 10:30 P.M. (approx.)Round 8 ends
Sunday, 9:00 A.M.Round 9 begins
Sunday, 11:30 P.M.Round 11 begins
Sunday, 1:30 P.M. (approx.)Round 12 ends, awards ceremony
Sunday, 2:00 P.M.End of tournament

This Year’s Teams

If you are not listed below and want to play for your city, please contact your team captain immediately. Division assignments are still tentative, and we still need to recruit a few players.

Kingston Cup
Toronto Montreal
1786Zev Kaufman 1812Gabriel Gauthier-Shalom
1681Craig Rowland 1720Bernard Gotlieb
1584Glenn Dunlop 1661Jason Li
1587Vera Bigall 1462Sary Karanofsky
2082Adam Logan (CSW) 1865Joel Wapnick (CSW)
1967Evan Berofsky (CSW) 1834David Boys (CSW)
1855Tony Leah (CSW) 1726Jeremy Hildebrand (Ottawa, CSW)
1693John Chew (CSW) 1638Andrew Golding (CSW)
401 Trophy
Toronto Montreal
1400Alex Rodriguez 1409Nicholas Fall
1378Roger Cullman 1367Lydia Keras
1367Geoff Gibson 1274Barbara Bultz
1356Anna Miransky 1122Norma Lovett
1317Lisa Kessler 1071Sharon Ferguson (Kingston)
1296Lynda Wise
1269Mad Palazzo
Midway Cup
Toronto Montreal
1109Jillian Bathgate 1069Akiva Gitelman
1079Diane Brown 993Patrick Niesink (Ottawa)
827Josh Greenway 992Lany Ramos
802Sharon Janssen 967Emilie Henkelman (Ottawa)
730Merran Dunlop 883Sylvia Polson
631Carol Pressey 793John Apissoghomian
404Irene Gedney 0Doria Pecht (Kingston)

This Year’s Format

Teams will compete in four divisions (A, B and C) with no intermixing. Results of the TWL and CSW sections of the A division will be combined to determine the result of the Kingston Cup.

We had originally planned on having 8 players on the Toronto B team and 6 players on the Montreal B team play according to the following schedule:

T1: T4 M6 T3 M5 M4 T2 M3 M3 M2 M2 M1 M1
T2: M6 T3 M5 T4 M3 T1 M5 M4 M1 M1 M3 M2
T3: M5 T2 T1 M6 T4 M5 M1 M1 M4 M3 M2 M3
T4: T1 M5 M1 T2 T3 M1 M4 M2 M3 M6 M5 M4
T5: M4 M3 M6 M2 M1 M2 T8 M6 T7 M5 M4 T6
T6: M3 M4 M4 M1 M2 M6 M2 T7 M5 T8 M6 T5
T7: M2 M1 M2 M3 M6 M4 M6 T6 T5 M4 T8 M5
T8: M1 M2 M3 M4 M5 M3 T5 M5 M6 T6 T7 M6

However, due to two last-minute cancellations, we are likely to play 7 on 5, with one bye each round, like this:

T1: T5 M5 M3 T4 M4 M3 T3 M2 M2 T2 M1 M1
T2: M3 T6 M4 M3 T4 M5 M1 T3 M1 T1 M2 M2
T3: M5 M2 T7 M5 M1 T4 T1 T2 M4 M1 M4 M3
T4: M4 M4 M1 T1 T2 T3 M2 M1 M5 M2 M3 M5
T5: T1 M3 M5 M1 M2 M1 M5 M4 T7 M3 T6 M4
T6: M1 T2 M2 M4 M5 M2 M3 M5 M3 M4 T5 T7
T7: M2 M1 T3 M2 M3 M4 M4 M3 T5 M5 M5 T6


Montreal now leads Toronto 15½–10½ in the Kingston Cup and 9–6 in the 401 Trophy, and Toronto leads Montreal 7½-1½ in the Midway Cup. Click to see historical records about the players and the teams.