Back to NASPA Club #3, Tournaments or 2012-2013 Season.

NASPA Club #3 Local Club Tournament (June 2013)

NASPA Club #3 will hold its annual end-of-season club tournament (directed by John Chew) on June 5th, 12th and 19th, 2013. This is what NASPA calls a Local Club Tournament: tournament rules are in effect, you must be an active NASPA member to play, and ratings changes are one-third of open-tournament changes. We will play nine rounds (three on each night) in three divisions, assigned according to club championship qualification (if applicable) or club rating at time of registration (if not).

You do not have to be a club member to play, but you must commit to attending all three nights. You do not have to be in contention for the club championships to play, but if you are you must play in the appropriate division.

To register, please pay $15 to John or Lisa by May 29. Registrations after that date will only be acceptable if they result in even-numbered divisions. Then be sure to arrive promptly each night, as clocks will be started at 6:45 P.M.

The tournament will have three divisions (A, B and C). If you are contending one of the club’s divisional championships (which are based on end-of-year championship ratings), you must play in that division. If you are not, you may still play, and you choose your division based on your club rating at the time of your registration, playing up or down if you are within 50 points of the division breaks 1000 and 1400.

Asterisked players are in the running for (and in serious contention for) the divisional championships, doubly asterisked players have clinched their divisions; other players who choose to play do so solely for the glory of winning this nine-game tournament and for the fabulous cash prizes.

The following players have registered for the tournament (dollar-signs indicate players who haven’t yet paid, exclamation marks those who may need to renew their NASPA membership):

A Division (12 players)

Anna Miransky
Denis Farbstein
Eric Peters
Fern Lindzon
Glenn Dunlop
John Chew$
Lisa Kessler
Lynda Wise
Mark Edelson
Roger Cullman$
Tony Leah
Zev Kaufman

B Division (10 players)

Crayne Spanier*
Dave Krook
Eli Shupak
Esther Iczkowitz
Jillian Bathgate
Josh Greenway
Mad Palazzo
Risa Horowitz
Sharmaine Farini$?
Shauna Petrie

C Division (12 players)

Barry Muskovitch
Irene Gedney
Jeff Gaunt
Karen Falconer
Mickie Katgara
Mireille Huneault$
Pauline Grierson
Peter Hopkins*
Sara Rosenbaum
Sharon Dalgliesh
Sharon Janssen*
Sidonie Bell