Back to NASPA Club #3, Tournaments or 2015-2016 Season.

NASPA Club #3 Local Club Tournament (June 2016)

NASPA Club #3 will hold its annual end-of-season club tournament (directed by John Chew) on June 8th, 15th and 22nd, 2016. This is what NASPA calls a Local Club Tournament: tournament rules are in effect, you must be an active NASPA member to play, and ratings changes are one-third of open-tournament changes. We will play nine rounds (three on each night) in three divisions, assigned according to club championship qualification (if applicable) or club rating at time of registration (if not).

You do not have to be a club member to play, but you must commit to attending all three nights. You do not have to be in contention for the club championships to play, but if you are you must play in the appropriate division.

To register, please pay $20 to John or Lisa by June 1st. Registrations after that date will only be acceptable if they result in even-numbered divisions. Then be sure to arrive promptly each night, as clocks will be started at 6:45 P.M.

The tournament will have three divisions (A, B and C). If you are contending one of the club’s divisional championships (which are based on end-of-year championship ratings), you must play in that division. If you are not, you may still play, and you choose your division based on your club rating at the time of your registration, playing up or down if you are within 50 points of the division breaks 850 and 1350 (if you are the lowest rated player on a cusp, the director may assign you a division to make divisions even).

Asterisked players are in the running for (and in serious contention for) the divisional championships, doubly asterisked players have clinched their divisions; other players who choose to play do so solely for the glory of winning this nine-game tournament and for the fabulous cash prizes.

The following players have registered for the tournament (dollar-signs indicate players who haven’t yet paid, exclamation marks those who may need to renew their NASPA membership):

A Division (8 players)

Alex Rodriguez
Anna Miransky
Eric Peters
Fern Lindzon
Vera Bigall
Lisa Kessler
**Tony Leah
Zev Kaufman

B Division (10 players)

Ani Migirdicyan
Brenda Megannety
*Denis Farbstein
Eli Shupak
Lynda Wise
*Mad Palazzo
*Marcela Kadanka
Nicholas Schneider
Sharon Janssen
**Barry Muskovitch$ [clinched C]

C Division (16 players)

Andrew Rosen
Avy Kattsir
Ben Lemke
Esther Iczkowitz
Evan Bialo
Harry Gopaul
Irene Gedney
Jack Bell
Jamie Chew
Janet Carrington
Jeff Pancer
Mickie Katgara
Mieke Smulders
Pauline Grierson
Peter Hillerup
Sharon Dalgliesh